Road Trips

The Best of 2009 Blog Challenge

December 19 Car ride. What did you see? How did it smell? Did you eat anything as you drove there? Who were you with?

I love road trips. I think I overdid it a little this last summer when I put over 3,000 miles on my car in aprx. 4 months, but I do love road trips. I think it probably has something to do with when I was a kid, we almost always drove places instead of flying. I remember a couple trips out to Washington D.C. to visit relatives. That’s about a 14 hr. car ride. Another trip that stands out to me was a road trip we took out west. We made a huge circle visiting places like Mt. Rushmore, the Black Hills, Devil’s Tower, the Badlands, etc. I’m sure we probably got sick of each other, cramped in a car for all those hours, but I don’t remember that part. Actually, the part I do remember is my brother and I beating Mario Brothers on our Gameboys. Sigh, memories.

But back on track. Car rides and road trips.

One of the things I remember the most and love the most about road trips is that when we went as a family, mom would pack up a huge cooler with bread, peanut butter, jelly, lunch meat, chips and cookies, and whenever we got hungry for lunch we would just pull over into a rest area and have a picnic. I’m not sure why I remember that the most, or why I think that’s so cool, but I do and it is 🙂 I did the same thing on some of my road trips I took this summer. The farthest I went in one trip is up to Ely, MN; a good 12 hour drive. I packed up a cooler with all my favorite picnic items, and when I got hungry for lunch, I pulled over and had myself a little picnic. I guess it’s a tradition that my parents unknowingly started that I’ll be carrying on for quite awhile. Road trips and picnics.

~ by mary evelyn on December 19, 2009.

5 Responses to “Road Trips”

  1. I do the road trip picnic too 🙂

  2. Don’t forget about the Nerf Vortex we’d always throw around after lunch 😉

  3. Lots of miles logged here. Quite scared of flying, so I drive whenever possible.

  4. Hi M.E.

    Happy 2010! How’s everything?

  5. omg i love this! i miss roadtrips with my family. sighhhhhhhhh

Leave a Reply

 
